The “Thankful” Project

I never thought a simple little suggestion or project could get me to sit down and examine my life in such depth.  It started out innocent enough.  Someone on facebook suggested that for each day in November we should comment on something we are thankful for.  I decided to dive right in and take part in this big facebook project.  “Count me in,” I exclaimed from behind my laptop.

However, after the first initial postings, I begin to feel that my posts were too generic.  I’m not knocking those who wrote the same as I.   Of course we are all thankful for our family, our home, God, etc., but a 5 year old could write those statements.  So, I decided to sit back and take this “thankful” project to a whole different level.  I decided to dig deep into my inner self…to peal back the layers, to sift through the dirt, to peek around the corners of my soul to see if I could discover what I was truly thankful for.  I was a bit surprised by what I came up with.

As I sat down at my computer, I had the windows open, felt a slight breeze, could hear the neighborhood children laughing and playing, could smell the fresh air, and then the words begin to flow like water.  I discovered that not only was I thankful for the normal, everyday choices, but I was thankful for such things as the wind in my hair, the grass under my bare feet, the feel of sand between my toes.

This simple project has opened up a whole new door for me.  It has caused me to reflect, to hope, to examine, and to explore within myself.  I hope you will join me on this journey because I hate to travel alone.   Pack your bags and put on your walking shoes because this could be a long and bumpy ride.  Let’s get started…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “Thankful” Project

  1. Trina says:

    Love what you’re doing. Journaling is a great path in discovery (at least that’s what I’ve found over the years). Gos bless you as you travel.

Leave a Reply

