A Tribute to My Mom on her Birthday

I wanted to do something different for my mom’s 78th birthday, so I decided to write her a poem.  I’m not a poet, and yes I do know it, but I’m gonna give it my best shot!  Happy birthday mom!

She starts each day with a smile

With makeup, and lipstick, and her hair neatly styled.

She’s a friend to many and a mom of two

Three call her Nana cause Granny just wouldn’t do.

A lot old fashioned and a lot naive

Proper language and grammar were her two pet peeves.

Always busy and never down

Rarely cries or wears a frown.

Pretty as a picture and eats like a bird

Friendship and family is always preferred.

Gifts and talents, yes she has been blessed

but ask her to cook and she gets all stressed.

Humming and singing all through the day

Studies her Bible verses and prays.

Scared of her shadow and hates to drive

Taking care of others is where my mom thrives.

Teaching and helping and checking on friends

Keeps her days busy and full ’til the end.

The grand kids are special and dear to her heart

Enjoys their lives and wants to take part.

Insecurities and no confidence are her biggest faults

But serving and helping are where she exhalts.

Married forever to a man she calls Ed

Fifty plus years…well that’s enough said.

What more can I say about this lady called mom?

You’re a tough act to follow.  I love you…that’s all!

Today, I am thankful for having a wonderful mom.  I wish all could be so lucky.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Tribute to My Mom on her Birthday

  1. Deborah says:

    Beautiful!!! You did an awesome job Jen!

  2. Sarah Erwin says:

    Happy Birthday to an amazing woman!
    Just like you! 🙂

  3. angie kahn says:

    Awww, such a sweet poem Jen. you described her perfectly!!! I wish I had your gift.Beautifully written.

Leave a Reply

