God, Junkfood, and Me…

Why do I do it?  Why do I take this one body that God gave me and abuse it?   I cannot give you an acceptable reason for why I do what I do, or why I don’t do what I should do.  I can’t explain it, I can’t justify it, and I know it is wrong.

My name is Jennifer Calley, and I’m addicted to… food.  No, I don’t sit and eat a gallon of ice cream, a whole pizza, or a double meat cheeseburger.  I don’t super size my order, rarely eat a Big Mac, and only on occasion eat anything fried.  However, I’m guilty of eating food as comfort.  Reaching for that cookie, eating a slice of pie, or ordering  the cheese enchiladas and eating the basket of chips.  I admit, it makes me happy, and it’s  more of a social thing with me I think.  It’s what we friends do together.

Why can’t we just sit and talk?  Why do we feel the need to break bread together?  Why do we live to eat rather than eat to live?  I have asked myself these questions over and over and I have yet to come up with an answer that makes any logic.

As a Christian, my body is my temple.  God blessed me with a healthy vessel and I show Him my gratitude by filling my plate with unhealthy portions, sweet concoctions, and toxic ingredients that I can’t even pronounce.  Makes sense…to a nut!

I would like to say that I have a New Year’s Resolution…but how many of us actually stick to a resolution for any length of time?  Instead, I have got to make a lifestyle change.  I want to be thin and healthy rather than fat and out of shape.  I would like to do it not only for a healthier me, but as a way of thanking the good Lord for blessing me with a healthy body to begin with.  I need to take care of this one body I have…it’s all I’ve got.

Today I am thankful for my healthy body and mind (that I have at this moment.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God, Junkfood, and Me…

  1. Robyn says:

    Me 2 Jennifer!!!!

Leave a Reply

