Do You Fear God?

Found crumpled up in a drawer and put away for “safe” keeping, was a quote from Oswald Chambers that I had scribbled on a piece of scratch paper which read,  “The remarkable thing about fearing God is that, when you fear God, you fear nothing else; whereas, if you do not fear God, you fear everything else.”

This thought caused me to pause for a moment.  I think this is where many of us have missed the boat.  I like to think that my God is only a God of love and not a God of wrath.   I don’t like to think of God as being mad…especially at me.  This is what frightens me about not only my walk, but that of many of our modern preachers.

We seem to live in such a politically correct world and so afraid of offending another, that instead of preaching fire and brimstone that might save us from a Devil‘s hell, all we get from the pulpit today is a warm and fuzzy feeling.  I don’t have anything against warm and fuzzy…I like that homey, feel good moment as much as the next person.

However, when we are talking about eternal life…warm and fuzzy isn’t always gonna cut it.  There comes a time when I need my toes stepped on…I need my hand slapped…I need a good butt chewing.  Of course I love to think that God is always pleased with my actions, choices, and lifestyle, but even I’m not that naive.  I know I disappoint my God every single day.  Yes, I’m human and I make mistakes, but I need to be held accountable.  I need to be reminded of my walk as a Christian.  I need direction in my passage through this life.  I need a drill Sargeant, a life coach, a mentor…not Barney the purple dinosaur.

My prayer is that I have a healthy fear and respect for my heavenly Father.  His love is faithful and true.  However, He makes no apologies, doesn’t play favorites, and will not accept my excuses for what He doesn’t accept from His children.  I’m not suggesting being a holy roller that looks down my nose or judges another.   What I am suggesting is leading a life that is Christ-like.

I have a guide-book to follow that He has provided me with…otherwise known as the Bible.  I need to dust it off and keep it close and hand.  I need to open it, study it, and then apply it.  God didn’t give us His Word to be hidden in a closet collecting dust or as a decorative piece for our home.

Our Bible should be worn, marked, and used.  If someone took a peek at your Bible, what would they see?  Would it tell a story?  What does your Bible say about you?

Today, I am thankful for my healthy fear of my loving Heavenly Father.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do You Fear God?

  1. Linda says:

    Love the quote! If you don’t mind I will just borrow it and share with others!

  2. Robyn says:

    Really good Jennifer!!!!

Leave a Reply

