If I Had Known it Was the Last Time…

Do you ever sit back and think about what you might have
done differently if you had known that a particular moment in time
was going to be the last time…?

For instance, If I had known the
last time…My son reached out his hands and spoke the words,
“Mommy hold you,” would be the last time I heard those words
spoken…would I have cherished those oral words a little longer
and thought of them more like a classic love song rather than just
three little words?

If I had known the last time my son hopped in
my lap and twisted my hair around and around his finger as he fell
asleep would be a moment I would never have again…would I have
held him longer and kept that finger locked in my hair all night?
If I had known the last time I sat on our favorite church pew as a
family would have been my last time…would I have prayed a little
longer and maybe a little harder?

If I had known the last
conversation I held with a dear friend would have been my last
conversation with her as my dear friend…would I have talked a
little longer?

If I had known the last time I hugged my husband
would have been the last hug we would share as husband and
wife…would I have held him a little tighter? Would I have ever let go?

If I had known that
the last time I sat around my dining room table enjoying a big meal
with my family (3 kids, husband, grand kids) would have been the
last time I would be with them together as a family…would I have captured a better
snapshot in my mind?

If I had known the last time I drove around
our ranch on a spring afternoon, looking at the cattle, driving
across the creek, searching for arrowheads, and enjoying the day
would have been my last time to do this…would I have soaked in
those thumbnail moments just a little longer?

If I had known the last time I watched a lightning storm from my favorite rocky knoll
that overlooked a beautiful grass pasture would have been my
last…would I have lingered a little longer?

If I had known the last time that I slipped my key in the lock, opened the door, and
walked across the threshold of my home would have been the last
time…would I have ever walked out that door again?

If I had known…would it have made a difference? What if this is your
last time…Let’s remember to cherish all our moments as if they
were the last time…

Today I am thankful for the moments.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If I Had Known it Was the Last Time…

  1. Linda says:

    Very good! Life changes too fast and goes by too fast. We must learn to slow it down and to take in the special moments as little Kodak snapshots to be gotten out later and looked at and revisited. Moments where the same feelings return to our hearts and minds and it is like we are there again. Then put away until another day when we revisit again in our minds to once again relive one more time that special moment. Thanks for reminding us!

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and responding.

  3. Cindy says:

    Jennifer, did you have dry eyes while writing this? lol I have often thought about how precious every moment is and how fast things change. It scares me, but I learn in the midst of all of it.

  4. Pingback: Time moves on…….cherish the Moments « Personalpower4me's Blog

Leave a Reply

