I’m Not the Picture of any Man’s Dream

Sometimes I think that God not only had a vivid imagination, but also a great sense of humor as he created the human race.  How the population can be so vast, so unique, so different is almost beyond comprehension.  Every line on a face tells a story.  Every fingerprint identifies who we are.  Every hair on our head marks us as a unique individual set apart from all the rest.  How can this possibly be?

Look around you…we humans have so many of the same features.  Yet these same features are what set us apart.

But, through another’s eyes, how do we appear?  What do they see when they look at us?  Are they judging us by our appearance, our attitude, our speech, our walk?   Or, do they disregard all physical aspects of our being and look for our wisdom, our spirit, our character, our heart?

Initially, I take notice of the physical aspect of a person.  However, once they have caught my attention, the outer shell takes a back seat.   I find that I am most attracted to a person’s sense of humor, and their compassion for others.  I find a good listener as well as stimulating conversation invaluable.

Of course, it would be nice if we could all be Barbie and Ken with the chiseled features, the perfect hair, and sculptured body, but that just isn’t in the cards for the majority of us.  I would be lying if I said I never dreamed of  seeing heads heads turn as I walked in a room, to know that eyes followed as I walked passed, or even to hear the words, “Wow, you look hot!” However, as I have gotten older, those dreams have faded to a point.  I have learned that a person’s value to me isn’t their outward beauty, but rather the beauty that I see inside.

A person that reaches out to another, that brings a smile, that talks with love, that listens and really hears, that encourages laughter, and spreads hope and encouragement is a person that is beautiful to me.

I have witnessed that time has a way of altering our outward appearance and in many cases not in the most flattering way.    We gain weight, we acquire wrinkles, parts begin to sag, and our hair begins to thin and gray.  But the beauty from within seems to make a person more beautiful with the passing of time.  There is a certain glow that follows, there is a twinkle in the eyes, there is wisdom in their speech, and there is a love in their heart.  That my friend is true beauty and what we need to strive for.

Today I am thankful for the beauty from within.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Not the Picture of any Man’s Dream

  1. Becky says:

    Jen, I totally agree with your prospective….I didn’t get this wise without several setbacks. I think nothing is as beautiful as a person with a grateful heart and a love of people. I strive daily to be that person with a grateful heart…it makes life worth living.

  2. It sure does. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

