How Can You Mend a Broken Heart? (You Surrender the Pieces)

Negril, Jamaica

I read the following quote on a card recently, “Time can heal a broken heart, but we have to surrender the pieces.”  This spoke volumes to me.  A simple sentence in a random card that I just happened to open.

Isn’t it ironic how fate just steps in at certain times and just gives us an answer we so desperately need,  a word of encouragement to life our spirits, or a boost of confidence to get us back on our feet again?

I realized at that moment that I have never surrendered the pieces to my broken heart.  Instead I have held  them…refusing to toss them aside.  The pieces have cluttered my mind, and clouded my emotions long enough.   They have kept me from healing.

As I sit here with the pieces cupped in my trembling hands, I now feel ready to hand them over to my Maker and Creator.

It is time to surrender the pieces…

Today I am thankful that a blessing can be found in a simple sentence.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Can You Mend a Broken Heart? (You Surrender the Pieces)

  1. Sarah Erwin says:

    Great insight!
    I love you!

Leave a Reply

